Daria’s Theels
Spoken Theels
Surgeries as body-altering procedures
2
0:00
-12:51

Surgeries as body-altering procedures

Being aware of the life-changing consequences of surgeries
2

I love to have friends that spark new thoughts in me & then I manage to connect these conversations to my own life, thouoghts, experiences & feelings.

I recently was asked about my thoughts on circumcision in boys & from that emerged a whole story and memories about the topic of surgeries, that I personally have gone through & experienced, as an officially 50% disabled person.

Today I will share with you my personal take on surgeries as body-altering procedures, often irreversible, hopefully mainly necessary but sometimes not necessary; therefore also carrying the risk of not working out & resulting in an irreversible, suboptimal final outcome for us humans.

What I have experienced makes me believe that the only reason for surgeries is to improve or bring back functionality. Everything cosmetic or society-imposed is often not neccessarry, even harmful and using surgeries as excuses and not looking for alternative ways to heal or improve, can end disastorous.

Being realistic, I believe that we live in a world where we cannot blindly trust other people, institutions or organizations, not even medical doctors. They do not always have our best interest at heart and it is necessary for each one of us to inform ourselves as good as possible & take own responsibility over our health and body. Cos sometimes, even if you think you agreed upon one thing, forces behind your back will change the agreement and you might carry the consequences, be it physically, emotionally or mentally.

Lets all be and lead our lives with kindness & compassion, caree & love and decidee for ourselves and others with these value systems as muc has possible!

Love,
Daria

Daria’s Theels is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

2 Comments
Daria’s Theels
Spoken Theels
On my way to embrace my intuition & spontaneous impulses more, it came up to record some of my thoughts & feelings in spoken word. My "Spoken Theels" will basically be about my human experience, which so far spans being a Scientist, Artist, Entrepreneur, Expat, disabled person, spirituality interested soul & just someone who embraces the fullness of life! All these aspects of me are deeply connected, just like within all of us, we are more than those labels & roles & I intend to explore that fact here.